Home Services
U name it, V deliver it   
       aka Reginald Bliss

Herbert George Wells was a product of his time--the son of a servant, he studied the sciences at university and became both a popular writer and an influential socialist intellectual with a moderately scandalous list of affairs with women. Most of his science fiction dates from early in his career--in a few short years, he invented many of the obsessional tropes of the genre from The Time Machine to contact with hostile aliens (in The War of the Worlds and The First Men in the Moon) to suspended animation (in The Sleeper Awakes) and the temporary uplift of animals to sapience (in The Island of Doctor Moreau). In almost all of these cases, he creates at once a satirical comment on some trend in contemporary society--class division, imperialism and so on--and a powerful poetic myth that transcends any immediate satiric content; when we think of the effete Eloi and subterranean Morlocks in The Time Machine, it is not just of aristocrats and proletarians that we think. Like Verne, he was occasionally fond of comic stereotypes--Wells almost singlehandedly crystallized the figure of the impractical comic scientist (in The First Men in the Moon), as he did that of the scientist so ruthless as to be on the edge of sanity (in The Invisible Man and The Island of Doctor Moreau). Unlike Verne, and perhaps because he had a solid scientific background, he did not fetishize scientific accuracy and used scientific ideas as story germs and for verisimilitude. Most of his later novels have no sf content, (while being novels of ideas in precisely the same way as his sf novels), the exceptions being various utopian fictions like In the Days of the Comet and terrible warnings like The War in the Air. Wells's political evolution was from an optimist who believed in casual eugenic slaughter to a pessimist who cultivated humane virtues.



The Lord of the Dynamos (1894)

The Time Machine (1895)

The Wonderful Visit (1895)

The Island of Doctor Moreau (1896)

The Wheels of Chance (1896)

The Invisible Man (1897)

The War of the Worlds (1898)

Love and Mr Lewisham (1899)

The Sleeper Awakes (1899) aka When the Sleeper Wakes

The First Men in the Moon (1901)

The Sea Lady (1902)

The Food of the Gods (1904)

Kipps (1905)

In the Days of the Comet (1906)

The War in the Air (1908)

Ann Veronica (1909)

Tono-Bungay (1909)

The History of Mr Polly (1910)

The New Machiavelli (1911)

Marriage (1912)

The Passionate Friends (1913)

The Wife of Sir Isaac Harman (1914)

The World Set Free (1914)

Bealby (1915)

Boon, The Mind Of The Race... (1915) (as by Reginald Bliss)

The Research Magnificent (1915)

Mr Britling Sees It Through (1916)

The Soul of a Bishop (1917)

Joan and Peter (1918)

The Undying Fire (1919)

The Secret Places of the Heart (1922)

Washington and the Hope of Peace (1922)

Men Like Gods (1923)

The Dream (1924)

Christina Alberta's Father (1925)

The World of William Clissold (1926)

Meanwhile (1927)

Mr Blettsworthy on Rampole Island (1928)

The King Who Was A King (1929)

The Treasure In The Forest (1929)

The Autocracy of Mr Parham (1930)

The Bulpington of Blup (1932)

The Shape of Things to Come (1933)

The Croquet Player (1936)

The Man Who Could Work Miracles (1936)

Apropos Of Dolores (1937)

Brynhild (1937)

The Camford Visitation (1937)

Star Begotten (1937)

The Brothers (1938)

The Holy Terror (1939)

All Aboard for Ararat (1940)

Babes In The Darkling Wood (1940)

You Can't Be Too Careful (1941)

Short stories

Tono-Bungay (excerpt)

A Family Elopement (1884)

A Tale Of The Twentieth Century (1887)

The Devotee Of Art (1888)

The Flying Man (1893)

Aepyornis Island (1894)

A Deal in Ostriches (1894)

The Diamond Maker (1894)

The Final Men (1894)

The Flowering of the Strange Orchid (1894)

The Hammerpond Park Burglary (1894)

How Gabriel Became Thompson (1894)

In the Avu Observatory (1894)

In the Modern Vein: An Unsympathetic Love Story (1894)

The Jilting of Jane (1894)

The Lord of the Dynamos [short story] (1894)

The Man With A Nose (1894)

A Misunderstood Artist (1894)

The Stolen Bacillus [short story] (1894)

The Thing In No. 7 (1894)

Through a Window (1894)

The Thumbmark (1894)

The Treasure in the Forest [short story] (1894)

The Triumphs of a Taxidermist (1894)

The Argonauts of the Air (1895)

A Catastrophe (1895)

The Cone [short story] (1895)

How Pingwell Was Routed (1895)

Le Mari Terrible (1895)

The Moth (1895)

Our Little Neighbour (1895)

Pollock and the Porroh Man (1895)

The Reconciliation (1895)

The Remarkable Case of Davidson's Eyes (1895)

The Temptation of Harringay (1895)

The Time Machine [short story] (1895)

Wayde's Essence (1895)

The Apple (1896)

In the Abyss (1896)

The Plattner Story [short story] (1896)

The Purple Pileus (1896)

The Rajah's Treasure (1896)

The Red Room [short story] (1896)

The Sea Raiders (1896)

A Slip Under the Microscope (1896)

The Story of the Late Mr Elvesham (1896)

Under the Knife (1896)

The Crystal Egg (1897)

The Ghost of Fear (1897)

The Invisible Man [short story] (1897)

The Lost Inheritance (1897)

Mr Marshall's Doppelganger (1897)

A Perfect Gentleman On Wheels (1897)

The Presence By The Fire (1897)

The Star [short story] (1897)

A Story of the Days to Come (1897)

A Story of the Stone Age (1897)

Jimmy Goggles the God (1898)

The Man Who Could Work Miracles [short story] (1898)

Miss Winchelsea's Heart (1898)

Mr Ledbetter's Vacation (1898)

The Stolen Body [short story] (1898)

Walcote (1898)

Mr Brisher's Treasure (1899)

A Vision of Judgement (1899)

A Dream of Armageddon (1901)

Filmer (1901)

Mr Skelmersdale in Fairyland (1901)

The New Accelerator [short story] (1901)

The Inexperienced Ghost [short story] (1902)

The Loyalty Of Esau Common (1902)

The Land Ironclads [short story] (1903)

The Magic Shop (1903)

The Truth About Pyecraft [short story] (1903)

Twelve Stories and a Dream [short story] (1903)

The Valley of the Spiders (1903)

The Country of the Blind [short story] (1904)

The Empire of the Ants [short story] (1905)

The Door in the Wall [short story] (1906)

The Beautiful Suit (1909)

Little Mother Up the Morderberg (1910)

My First Aeroplane (1910)

The Sad Story of a Dramatic Critic (1915)

The Story of the Last Trump (1915)

The Wild Asses of the Devil (1915)

The Grisly Folk (1921)

The Pearl of Love (1924)

The Queer Story of Brownlow's Newspaper (1932)

Answer To Prayer (1937)

Web Site Counters
25% off Harajuku
Home | Content | News | Contact Us