Home Services
U name it, V deliver it   
       Raymond Carver was born in Clatskanie, Oregon, in 1938. His father was a saw-mill worker and his mother was a waitress and clerk. He married early and for years writing had to come second to earning a living for his young family. Despite, small-press publication, it was not until Will You Please Be Quiet Please? appeared in 1976 that his work began to reach a wider audience. This was the year in which he gave up alcohol, which had contributed to the collapse of his marriage. In 1977 he met the writer Tess Gallagher, with whom he shared the last eleven years of his life. During this prolific period he wrote three collections of stories, What We Talk About When We Talk About Love, Cathedral and Elephant. Fires, a collection of essays, poems and stories, appeared in 1985, followed by three further collections of poetry. In 1988 he completed the poetry collection A New Path to the Waterfall.



Furious Seasons (1976)

At Night the Salmon Move (poems) (1976)

What We Talk About When We Talk About Love: Stories (1981)

Fires: Essays, Poems, Stories (1983)

Cathedral: Stories (1983)

The Stories of Raymond Carver (1985)

Early for the Dance (poems) (1986)

Where Water Comes Together with Other Water: Poems (poems) (1986)

Ultramarine (poems) (1986)

Those Days: Early Writings By Raymond Carver : Eleven Poems And a Story (1987)

In a Marine Light: Selected Poems (poems) (1987)

Where I'm Calling from: New And Selected Stories (1988) Download

Elephant: And Other Stories (1988)

Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? (1988)

Dostoevsky: A Screenplay / King Dog : A Screenplay (1988) (with Tess Gallagher)

A New Path to the Waterfall: Poems (poems) (1989)

Three Stories (1990)

Short Cuts: Selected Stories (1990)

No Heroics, Please: Uncollected Writings, 1958-88 (1992)

Two Short Story Collections: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love ; Cathedral (1994)

All of Us: The Collected Poems (poems) (1996)

Call If You Need Me: The Uncollected Fiction And Other Prose (2000)

Collected Stories (2009)

Beginners (2009)


Near Klamath (1968)

Winter Insomnia (1970)

The Pheasant (1982)

If It Please You (1984)

The Window (1985)

My Father's Life (1986)

Web Site Counters
25% off Harajuku
Home | Content | News | Contact Us