Home Services
U name it, V deliver it   
       John Ronald Reuel Tolkien was born on the 3rd January, 1892 at Bloemfontein in the Orange Free State, but at the age of four he and his brother were taken back to England by their mother. After his father's death the family moved to Sarehole, on the south-eastern edge of Birmingham. Tolkien spent a happy childhood in the countryside and his sensibility to the rural landscape can clearly be seen in his writing and his pictures.
       In 1920 Tolkien was appointed Reader in English Language at the University of Leeds which was the beginning of a distinguished academic career culminating with his election as Rawlinson and Bosworth Professor of Anglo-Saxon at Oxford. Meanwhile Tolkien wrote for his children and told them the story of 'The Hobbit'. It was his publisher, Stanley Unwin, who asked for a sequel to 'The Hobbit' and gradually Tolkien wrote 'The Lord of the Rings', a huge story that took twelve years to complete and which was not published until Tolkien was approaching retirement. After retirement Tolkien and his wife lived near Oxford, but then moved to Bournemouth. Tolkien returned to Oxford after his wife's death in 1971. He died on 2 September 1973 leaving 'The Silmarillion' to be edited for publication by his son, Christopher.


The Lord Of The Rings collection with maps

Lord of the Rings

The Fellowship of the Ring (1954) Download

The Two Towers (1954) Download

The Return of the King (1955) Download

History of Middle-Earth

The Book of Lost Tales (1983)

The Book of Lost Tales, Part Two (1984)

The Lays of Beleriand (1985)

The Shaping of Middle-Earth (1987)

The Lost Road and Other Writings (1987)

The History of The Lord of the Rings

The Return of the Shadow (1988)

The Treason of Isengard (1989)

The War of the Ring (1990)

Sauron Defeated (1992)

Later Silmarillion

Morgoth's Ring: The Legends of Aman (1993)

The War of the Jewels: The Legends of Beleriand (1994)


The Hobbit: or, There and Back Again (1937) Download

Farmer Giles of Ham (1949)

Roverandom (1998)

The Children of Hurin (2007)

The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun (2009)


The Silmarillion (1937) Download

The Adventures of Tom Bombadil (poems) (1962)

The Tolkien Reader (1964)

Tree and Leaf (1964)

Farmer Giles of Ham / Adventures of Tom Bombadil (1975)

The Father Christmas Letters (1976) aka Letters from Father Christmas

Poems and Stories (1980)

Unfinished Tales (1980)

Smith of Wootton Major / Farmer Giles of Ham (1984)

Tales from the Perilous Realm (1993)

Tolkien (poems) (1993)

The Peoples of Middle-earth (1996)

Smith of Wootton Major / Leaf by Niggle (2003)

Web Site Counters
25% off Harajuku
Home | Content | News | Contact Us