Home Services
U name it, V deliver it   
       Gene Wolfe's enigmatically stylish first novel The Fifth Head of Cerberus, with its meditations on identity, shape-shifting aliens and variously abused clones, made him instantly a figure to watch, as did short stories like the ones contained in The Island of Doctor Death and Other Stories. His most important book is The Book of the New Sun, a quartet consisting of The Shadow of the Torturer, The Claw of the Conciliator, The Sword of the Lictor and The Citadel of the Autarch. Severian, an apprentice torturer, wanders towards his destiny in a far future world that is always more complex than it appears; a cyborg fellow prisoner turns out to be a robot patched with flesh. A narrative involving escapes, betrayals, sword-fights, miracles and battles is also a complex text involved in games of allusion that range from Dickens to Borges; the four volumes contain almost a book's worth of interspersed stories and fables. Other major Wolfe works include various slightly less elaborate sequels to The Book of the New Sun--The Urth of the New Sun, The Book of the Long Sun--and the inventive urban fantasy Free Live Free.


Urth : Book of the New Sun

The Shadow of the Torturer (1980) Download

The Claw of the Conciliator (1980) Download

The Sword of the Lictor (1982)

The Citadel of the Autarch (1982)

The Urth of the New Sun (1987)

Soldier of the Mist

The Soldier of the Mist (1986)

The Soldier of Arete (1989)

Soldier of Sidon (2006)

Urth : Book of the Long Sun

Nightside the Long Sun (1993)

Lake of the Long Sun (1994)

Calde of the Long Sun (1994)

Exodus from the Long Sun (1996)

Urth : Book of the Short Sun

On Blue's Waters (1999)

In Green's Jungles (2000)

Return to the Whorl (2001)

Wizard Knight

The Knight (2004)

The Wizard (2004)

The Wizard Knight (2005)


Operation Ares (1970)

Peace (1975)

The Devil in a Forest (1976)

Free Live Free (1984)

There Are Doors (1988)

Castleview (1990)

Pandora by Holly Hollander (1990)

Pirate Freedom (2007)

An Evil Guest (2008)

The Sorcerer's House (2010)

Home Fires (2011)

The Land Across (2013)

Non fiction

The Castle of the Otter (1982)

Letters Home (1991)

Shadows of the New Sun: Essays (2002)

A Walking Tour of the Shambles (2002) (with Neil Gaiman)

Gate of Horn, Book of Silk: A Guide to Gene Wolfe's The Book of the Long Sun and The Book of the Short Sun (2012) (with Michael Andre-Driussi)

Web Site Counters
25% off Harajuku
Home | Content | News | Contact Us